Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Monday, March 11, 2013: Today was the day that I submitted my dissertation proposal. It’s official, the madness has begun. Hopefully it will not be the end of me. At least my week got better from there.

BathTuesday, March 12, 2013: Today, three colleagues and I ventured to Bath, the city where we will be for our summer placement!

We left early this morning for Bath (I must add, in the freezing cold–and with some snow), finally reaching the beautiful city around noon where we will be located for the last section of our Master’s degree.

Our placement will be at the Roman Baths. I will be working with the Learning and Programmes team for the Bath Heritage Services, primarily at the Roman Baths and also at the Fashion Museum and Victoria Art Gallery! I will be working primarily with learning and outreach programs! I cannot tell you how excited I am! This placement is going to be absolutely fantastic and Bath is a wonderful city to be located!

Wednesday, March 13, 2013: Today, three of us from my exhibition design team, the Toad Design Group, installed our display case for the University of Leicester School of Museum Studies exhibition, “Fragile Earth.” Our exhibit is titled, “The Price of Beauty” and explores the ethical questions and implications of mining minerals.

You should check out our “toadily” (I apologize, I couldn’t resist) rad website!

Price of Beauty Price of Beauty

Price of Beauty Installation Team

I cannot begin to express how proud I am to have been a part of such a fantastic team for our design project, and I must say installing this exhibit with these girls was so much fun and it turned out wonderfully!

Thursday, March 14, 2013: Today, my friends and I ended the day a bit differently than usual. We went to see Charles Dickens’ great-great-grandson theatrically present “An Evening with Charles Dickens.”

It was so cool.

And we are some of the few people who can say they have seen a performance like this–which just makes it that much cooler. And, it was a wonderful end to a very relaxing day.

Looking forward to tomorrow’s big band performance by one of my friends here to sum up a very exhausting, but wonderful, week.

For funny things and stories that don’t make it onto my blog, follow me on Twitter @amyestone12

