Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

VersaillesChapel Royal
Hall of Mirrors Grand Trianon Apollo Basin Versailles ceiling Versailles ceiling Best Chinese food ever

Friday, 8 February 2013: Bonjour! Today was the day I have dreamed of for years.

I got to go to Versailles and walk through the palace and the grounds!

It was truly a dream come true! I must admit, I am weirdly obsessed with Marie Antoinette, so naturally I was completely psyched to go to Versailles for an entire day!

Favorite rooms in Versailles: Hall of Mirrors (duh), Peace Room, Chapel Royal (we heard a man PLAY the ORGAN in the chapel!!! I totally freaked out), and Marie Antoinette’s bedroom.

I also completely loved Grand Trianon and Petit Trianon and all of the grounds (the other outhouse buildings like the theatre and farm house were closed…boo).

Basically, if you haven’t been able to tell yet, I literally loved every minute of that day.

Naturally, I told all of the random facts and stories I knew about Marie Antoinette, Versailles, Louis XVI, other French monarchs, etc. all day…I was like a kid in a candy store.

To make it even better, we got to eat lunch in Versailles (in one of the rooms!!!!) I don’t think I can convey to anyone HOW COOL I THINK THAT IS!

BAHHHHHH. Amazing.

Words cannot describe how happy I was to be there and how fortunate I was that the first time I visited Versailles was in the off-season so there were not a lot of people there!

I am still on cloud nine.

To top off a perfect day, we visited Chinatown for the Chinese New Year and of course ate at a fantastic Chinese food restaurant! It was some of the best food I have ever had. We ate at Delices ShanDong. I highly recommend anything on the menu! We tried “Intestins de porc aromatisé” (flavored pork intestines)–yes I have officially tried pig intestines and they were delicious! We also tried the dumplings and some other food (none of us are sure what I ordered since the menu was in French but mine looked like orange chicken in the picture but was way better!) Basically, if you have time, go to l’Hopital boulevard and go to this restaurant in the 13th district. It is fantastic.
 
