Tags

, , , ,

I’m going to be really honest–I have sat down to write this blog about 10 times and have not been able to even find the words to put in it. I need advice. I have no idea what to do with this issue I have found myself in.

I am going to start off by saying that I am a believer in Jesus Christ.

I believe that a relationship and surrendering yourself to Him is the only way to spend eternity in heaven.

I believe that those who do not surrender themselves to him and do not have a personal relationship with Him will spend eternity in Hell–and for the record it breaks my heart for every kind person I meet and I know that I won’t get to hang out forever with them and the Big Man Upstairs because they don’t know the truth. And yes, I (and ALL believers) are guilty of shying away from going out on a limb and telling people about Jesus and eternal salvation because we don’t want to lose their friendship or whatever stupid excuse the devil puts in our head, BUT that shouldn’t make us shy away from the truth–or from living in a way that those who know us but don’t know God, will come to know God because of us (some really smart person said that–I can’t remember who).

I believe that the Bible is God’s love story to us–and it is the greatest love story ever told.

We are a fallen people, and we as believers, must stand up and fight against an ever-changing world who believes that truth is relevant and there is no “right” truth anymore; we live in a world that has very few morals, and we live in a world where Christians (well a lot of them) are afraid to come out of the wood-work and proclaim their faith because it’s easier to stay in their Christian bubble where they won’t step on anyone’s toes. Just for the record, that’s the biggest load of hogwash crap of an excuse anyone can give–and yes, we are ALL guilty of it at one time or another BUT that is no excuse to keep doing it.

With that being said, (and please no hate comments, spam, profanity, etc.) I need help with situation I have below.

I just replied to a comment for Dr. Jim Denison’s daily devotional with a question about an issue that has been bothering me for almost two weeks. Here is [most of…I took out a few sentences that have nothing to do with this] my comment below:

“I do have a question as to how to proceed with a delicate situation I have found myself in regarding this issue.
I am currently living in the United Kingdom, and it is no surprise that there are not many believers here. I have been blessed and found a fantastic church and joined a Bible study. In my Bible study this past week, we were discussing 1 Thess. 4. This chapter is about “Living to please God.” In verse 3 it says to abstain from sexual immorality.
All of the sudden 6 of the 8 in my group were discussing how we, and I quote, “cannot take the Bible at face value anymore. Our culture and world don’t do that anymore. There is sex everywhere and having sex before marriage isn’t a big deal. I think that you have to take the Bible at face value and pick and choose out of it and live in a good way. But the Bible isn’t really relevant today. It’s more a guideline for how we should live. I think if you have 4 boyfriends and you’ve loved them all you can have sex with them and it’s okay. Not everyone gets married anymore.”
Now, with this being said, clearly I will get no-where with them about the sex issue. Another girl in the group and I tried. The entire time they were speaking I was trying not to throw up on myself.
HELP. I don’t know what to do. I don’t know how to tell a pastor that he really needs to help them with this issue. I don’t know if they are the only ones in the church that think this way. How do I help correct this wrong?”

Here’s 1Thessalonians 4 if you want to read what I was talking about.

How do you help people that thinks the Bible isn’t relevant, yet they call themselves believers? I’ve heard the majority of the group’s testimonies, and as far as I could tell, they were in fact true believers in Jesus Christ. How do you explain to people–where they will listen and understand–that the Bible is a guideline but it’s also the greatest love story ever told. How do you explain that we cannot pick apart what we want to hear from the Bible and decide what we want to follow and what is “out-dated?”

God bless.

