Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, 24 November 2012: Some of my new friends from my program decided that we should have a Thanksgiving meal. And when we all decided that this was going to happen (especially since only a handful from our program are from Canada [they celebrate it also…just on a different day] and the U.S.), we really made it happen. We all decided that we needed to introduce all of our favorite Thanksgiving dishes to our friends who had never experienced the succulent wonderfulness of Thanksgiving food–and we did. We had a HUGE Thanksgiving party. I know we had way over 35 people at one point, and everyone was from different countries. If I counted correctly, we only had 9 North Americans present, which means that we got to taste people’s favorite dishes from around the world! It was delicious!

I attempted to write down all of the countries that everyone was from, but I knew that I would just screw it up and leave out like 10 of them so I decided not to. But let’s just say there were a LOT of them represented.

Oh, and we basically dominated the food. There really was not that much left over, which is always a sign that the meal was fantastic!

Then, all of the North Americans taught everyone else how to play Spoons and some other games. It was definitely the highlight entertainment watching everyone play Spoons together. Everyone loved it. And, everyone got really, and I mean REALLY into the Spoons games. It was hysterical and so much fun!

We also played some card games and the game where you write something down and stick it on the person’s forehead (I’m sure there is a name for it but I don’t know what it is)…I’m really not that good at that game. I try really hard and I am just horrible, but I LOVE it.
Overall, it was such a fun day and I am so thankful that I was able to share it with my new friends from around the world!
Shout-out to the girls who totally spear-headed this idea and really made it happen! It was such a great day!
Gobble. Gobble.
