Tags

, , , , ,

Thursday, 22 November 2012: Today was the first time in my life (and hopefully the last) that I’ve ever been in class on Thanksgiving. Let me tell you, it was wrong, just WRONG. I did not like it at all. At least the speaker we had was interesting, but I still did not like that I was sitting in a classroom on Thanksgiving, or my personal favorite name for it, turkey day.

So, my Thanksgiving was not like my typical Thanksgivings, but it was still wonderful. Today some of my friends and I went to the Snack Box for lunch, our favorite place in Leicester (I HIGHLY recommend this place if you are ever in town for breakfast or lunch. It’s delicious and the man and woman who own it are the sweetest and they have amazing food. It’s great). We each had the Thanksgiving themed sandwich (or “Roast”) as they call it. It had pork (no turkey option, but close enough) stuffing and cranberry sauce on a delicious ciabatta. I ate every bite. It was perfect.

Then, we decided to go sit at Costa Coffee before our next class, so I treated myself there also. I got an amazing chocolate muffin with chocolate chunks on top and chocolate fudge in the center. It was heavenly.

After class, I had to go to the shopping center to get my iPad fixed, and on my way out of the store, I spotted this little cutie. He was my treat to myself for Thanksgiving. Isn’t he super cute? I’m really thankful for him.

Tonight, some friends and I met at a pub for a good dinner in celebration of Thanksgiving. Even without a turkey, it was a fantastic meal and something to be very thankful for. Great food, great friends and hysterical conversation…what else is Thanksgiving about?!? And, one of the girls at dinner was so precious and even treated us all to dessert. I had a pudding (English style pudding is VERY different from American) for the first time. It was fantastic!

Overall, it was a very different Thanksgiving, but definitely a day to be exceedingly thankful for. The official Museum Studies Thanksgiving celebration will commence Saturday–all of the Americans in the program are introducing the amazingness of Thanksgiving to our other fellow museum studies colleagues. It will be great.
Happy turkey day! Gobble. Gobble.
