Tags

, , , , , , ,

Saturday, 17 November 2012: This day is a day that will forever be special to me. Not only did I go to Cambridge for the first time, but Baylor University upset the #1 team in the country, Kansas State. And, it was Baylor’s first time to ever upset the #1 team in football ever.

I still have goosebumps. I wish I had been there.

But, back to Cambridge. We arrived and went straight to the Fitzwilliam Museum (with not the kindest welcome ever…but whatever, we still got in). Even with the debacle that surrounded our arrival, the Fitzwilliam was a fantastic museum, and definitely worth the visit. The interior architecture of the building was top-notch and the artifacts throughout the museum were awesome. They had wonderful ceramics, pottery, mummies, Greek, Roman, and Egyptian artifacts, as well as paintings, sketches and reliefs of amazing things completed by amazing craftsmen. They even had a really cool section about Calligraphy today and in the past. There was a Bible, open to the book of Job, and it was hand-painted and hand-written in calligraphy–it was gorgeous!

After we explored the Fitzwilliam, my friend and I joined another group of girls who travelled with our group and went to lunch at the Eagle, which is where Watson and Crick discovered DNA. It was so cool to be in a place where such a huge part of history occurred.

After lunch, we walked around Cambridge some, stopping at two markets in the town. Then, we walked down to some museums. Some of the group went to the Cambridge Story Museum (which I still really want to go back and see) while Sarah and I went to the Kettle’s Yard House. Oh my goodness, it was fantastic. The house was owned by curator for
the Tate Gallery from the 1920s-1930s. He ammassed a fantastic personal collection of works of art over the years, and left his house as a museum. It was filled with amazing art pieces and you were allowed to sit in chairs throughout the house to sit and view the art. It was such a cool museum.

After we toured Kettle’s Yard, we walked to the Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology. There we met up with some more people from our group, and finished exploring the museum with them. I highly recommend this museum to anyone, it was filled with amazing artifacts! It was such a fun day in Cambridge and I cannot wait to go back and visit again! 

For more fun and weird adventures that I take, follow me on Twitter: @amyestone12

