Tags

,

Day 33, Thursday, July 19, 2012: Today was honestly just another day like any other. I went to work at iCivics and had a blast, like any other day, but I did come prepared for the rain today. I was equipped with a rain jacket and my umbrella. Don’t worry, because I am stupid and forgot that my nice raincoat is bright red, I purchased a bright red umbrella when I was out one day and didn’t have one. I was totally prepared to be the lady in red sprinting through the rain.

After work, I came back and changed (the weather was unusually heavy because it was about 99.9% humidity and just busting at the seams to start raining again…just wanting to continue D.C.’s flood watch alert) and then I headed to Dupont Circle to meet two friends for dinner at a wonderful (let me emphasize that please) Greek restaurant. We ate and chatted for over two hours. Both of the girls I met with work at a PR firm here in D.C. and had hysterical stories to tell about what they have done since arriving at their internship as well as great discussions about what TV shows I should start watching, where to eat in D.C., what a bar class is (the ballet bar one where you get an insane workout apparently). We also decided to go to a wonderful little festival in D.C. on Saturday.

After we departed from dinner, I strolled around Dupont for a few minutes before looking up and realizing that it was about to pour…naturally I had left my raincoat and umbrella in my backpack when I came home from work. I made a hasty departure home, and made it just in time before the heavens opened and the rain came down.

For more moments and adventures that don’t make it onto the blog, follow me on Twitter @amyestone12

