Tags

, , ,

I want to make sure that I always give over 100% in everything that I do. I give every task that I am presented with it my all, and I expect myself to respond above and beyond what anyone would expect to every situation I am presented. I always strive to be the best that I can, and to ensure that at the end of the day, I can look back and think that I do not have any regrets about anything that I’ve done.

My goals in life are to work in a non-profit foundation. I want to work in a museum in the education department helping museums use their educational resources to reach out to the community, or I want to work for a company like iCivics, which promotes civic education.I have always wanted to work in the non-profit sector, and I have made sure that every internship has helped prepared me for a future in the non-profit sector.

I have modeled my goals in life after many of the people I look up to, including, Martin Luther King, Jr., Justice Sandra Day O’Connor, and Annie Leibovitz. I want to always fight for what is right and what convicts me, like Martin Luther King, Jr. did.

Martin Luther King once said:

“This hour in history needs a dedicated circle of transformed non-conformists…The saving of our world will come, not through the complacent adjustment of the conforming majority, but through the creative maladjustment of a nonconforming minority…like Thomas Jefferson, who in an age adjusted to slavery wrote, “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty, and the pursuit of Happiness”; Through such maladjustment an already decadent generation may be called to those things which make for peace.”

I want to live my life in a way that is representative of my faith and what I believe in it. I want to make sure that I do not only look around and see what others are doing and follow their lead because it is the “status quo.” I want to make sure that I always live my life in a way that is chasing after what I believe.

One of my personal goals for this semester is to promote, design curriculum and other items for events and other things for iCivics, which was started by Justice Sandra Day O’Connor. I started working with iCivics this year, and this program that Justice O’Connor helped start is truly amazing. It is an interactive online game tool that helps kids learn civic education in an easier way.

I have designed the curriculum for the Law Reps, designed the invitations for the luncheon with Justice O’Connor, and I am in charge of a number of other things for the Baylor Model of iCivics. It has been one of the most rewarding experiences ever. I have loved working with Berkley Scroggins, from the Baylor Law School, on this program more than anything. It has been an amazing ride thus far, and I cannot wait to see what else is to come.

One of my other personal goals is to become a more adept photographer. I have loved photography my entire life, and was blessed with being able to take numerous photography classes during my time at Baylor University. 

One of the most influential photographers that I have followed through the years has been Annie Leibovitz. Her photo-shoot with the Queen of England was one of my favorite things that I have ever seen.

Every time that my shutter clicks, I strive to make sure that every picture I have taken is even a third of as creative as hers are.

I want to be the best and most creative person in general that I can. I always try to design things in ways that are different from anything that anyone has seen before. I think that design and creativity are key to success in this very technological world. I strive to be as creative as I can, as prompt as I can be, and be the best that I can be in everything that I do.

